Regional Transportation District (RTD)

General Information: The Regional Transportation District (RTD) was created as a transportation planning agency, a political subdivision of the State of Colorado, by an Act of the Colorado General Assembly (the Act), effective July 1969 (Title 32, Article 9, C.R.S., 1973, as amended). In 1974, the Act was amended and RTD became an operating entity charged with the responsibility for development, operation and maintenance of a public mass transportation system for the benefit of the citizens of the District. The District is comprised of 15 separate districts located in Denver, Boulder, Broomfield and Jefferson counties, and certain portions of Adams, Arapahoe, Douglas, and Weld counties.
District Oversight: RTD is governed by a publicly elected board of directors consisting of 15 members. Each board member is elected to serve a term of four years by the constituents of the district in which the board member resides.
Property Tax Usage: Property taxes collected by the District are used to fund the general operations of the District. Approximately 70% of the District’s operations are funded through property taxes.  Other revenue sources for RTD include passenger fares, advertising revenue and various Federal and State grants.
External Website: Click here to open the RTD website.
Return to main property tax page.